Toronto #1

So here I am, a few days after my arrival, and I still can’t quite believe it. Not so much actually being here in Toronto as how surprisingly easy it all was.

It was only less than a year ago when I decided to try and get away from England for a bit and work and live in Canada for at least a year. There were many reasons for this – feeling bolder after trying out improv; being made redundant and realising that there was more to life than work; finally figuring out that life was just too. Damn. Short – but essentially, they all added up to one great big NEED to go, or at least to try.

Amazingly, barely months after applying and obtaining a work permit, and even less time since finally booking the flight, here I am, sitting in Toronto, writing my first blog in what I hope to be the first of many.

Not that there’s a whole lot to write about right now. While I do plan on doing as much as I can and try something new each and every week, the past few days have been mostly about getting set up. Sorting out chargers for my phone and kindle; updating my resume; getting a new Canadian number for my mobile (that last one was especially tricky to sort out, surprisingly). Anything to make the job application process considerably easier.

Today was full of key firsts, perhaps why I’m finally typing something up. I finally got to try out Toronto’s public transport, and it really impressed me. Not just how nicely bus services link with the subway, but also that the buses actually announce what the next stop is! Very refreshing, after years traveling on Southend buses and occasionally having to guess getting off at the correct stop.

Oh, and I also got to try out something very Canadian: sweet food from Tim Horton’s. In this case, an apple pie fritter. Absolutely fucking gorgeous it was, too.

Fingers crossed this will be the first many blogs, with much more interesting things to talk about. In the meantime, whether I succeed at lasting at least a year or fail to find a job before heading back in a few months, holding my head in shame, I’ll always be glad of the fact that I actually did it. That I made it here, that I didn’t back out at the last minute. For that much at least, I’ll always be grateful for.

 

Leave a Reply

