Toronto #7

I’m sorry to say that, overall, it’s been another quiet one this week, so it’s gonna be another short blog post.

One key update: I’m finally getting interviews. Last week I had two, although I think there’s a few things I need to work on when it comes to my interview technique. Still, I’m just glad that, after a month of applications, the interviews are finally coming in. If I focus enough and truly show how hard working I am in my interviews, I should find a job in no time. (Because seriously, I enjoy working, especially when it’s something I’m good at, but one thing I don’t like about work is actually looking for it.)

Halloween weekend was pretty fun, at least. I got to meet new people (including the biggest fan of The Who that I’ve ever met who was under 50), and I got to have some fun, especially with alcohol and Cards Against Humanity. It reminded me of some of the best times I’ve had back home.

One thing I’m currently missing, especially this time of year: dressing up. I love cosplay, and Halloween is the perfect time for it. Admittedly, usually as the Doctor, but to be fair, it’s always so easy and yet so distinctive. Eleven, Seven and of course, Eight are all incarnations that I’ve dressed up as. However, being someone without a job in a new country who’s left a lot of his old clothes back home has made dressing up considerably more difficult this year. Ah well. At least I’ve brought the Doctor Who waistcoat and bow tie that my best mate gave me.

There is one more thing I’m considering doing in my spare time: National Novel Writing Month. I’ve never done it before, partly because I’ve been stuck for the past several years on a time travel fantasy novel. Both of those aspects have been super difficult to write, however. I think maybe working on another idea could do me some good. Especially as I’ve been rather in the mood lately for occult detective fiction, like the Gabriel Knight series of games, and the movie Angel Heart. (If you haven’t seen it yet, check it out. It’s a great, great mix of horror and film noir.)

Fingers crossed I’ll be absolutely brilliant in my next couple of interviews and that I get a job soon, so I can afford to do much more interesting, bloggable stuff, like watching ‘The Power of the Daleks’ at the cinema. I think it’s only a matter of time, now.

 

Leave a Reply

