Toronto #8

Last week, I commented that I was still looking for work, and really hoped to find a job soon. This week, I’m more than happy to report that I have finally found work!

It’s temporary, and there’s no guarantee that it’ll last longer than a month. However, at the very least, it’s a great start.

It worked out pretty perfectly, too. I had a couple of interviews on Monday, which was Halloween. The first one I was waiting to hear back from. The second worked out so well, I was told I could work the next day. I think what really helped was a really great reference from a mentor of mine, for which I’m super thankful for. I’m not sure of all the details of that reference, but it clearly impressed the interviewer, at least!

Let me tell you, after a month and a half of unemployment, there was something incredibly satisfying about not starting November the same way. Overall, my first week was pretty good. The job gives me a high volume of work, so it helps the day go by quick. Fingers crossed that I can keep up the pace, if not exceed it, and that this lasts slightly longer than a month, at least.

I’ll be honest, when I came to Canada back in September, this was the step I was most worried about. Admittedly, I was at least fairly confident that I could find work reasonably quick, especially with the experience I’ve gained over the past few years, but even so, I knew that if I didn’t find a job fairly soon, I’d need to head back home much quicker than planned. To some extent, that could still happen, but I’m grateful that this job gives me the chance of staying a little while longer, at least.

As for the rest of the week, there’s not much new to report. On Saturday, it was Bonfire Night, at least in the UK. I think, along with friends, family, and easy access to 2000AD comics, Bonfire Night is something else I need to add to the list of things I currently miss about Blighty. Still, doesn’t change the fact that I’m mega glad I came here, and I was able to celebrate the night by re-watching V for Vendetta and cooking myself a hot dog and a burger. (Seriously, it was the only way I could replicate anything even close to the feeling of seeing fireworks with my family back home.)

Oh, one more thing. I did mention last week that I had hoped to try out National Novel Writing Month this year. Honestly, I don’t think I can go through with it, though. Besides work, there’s still a lot of other projects that I need to focus on. Still, there is a sick, twisted idea that I wouldn’t mind working on when I do find the time. I’ll keep you guys posted if I make any progress there.

I’ll keep you guys posted on any further developments. While I don’t have anything planned for this week or next, the final week of November has a few things that I’m certainly looking forward to. I’ll also try to work on more exciting developments in the meantime. Watch this space!

Leave a Reply

