Toronto #23

Due to a sudden and extremely strong head cold, this week has been considerably quieter than last. I didn’t even get to see one film at the Royal this week! However, that is something I plan on correcting for the upcoming week, now that I’m feeling much better.

And on the big fat plus side, if my week sucked, then Saturday more than made up for it. Once again, I met up with my fellow Canadian Tower junkie, and we headed down to Cherry Cola’s for Mod Night. I’ve mentioned before how Cherry Cola’s is currently one of my favourite places to go to, and Mod Night is definitely my favourite semi-regular night at my favourite place.

img_01701
Because any night where the advertisement includes an image from one of the greatest films ever made is BOUND to be worth going to.

After chatting over drinks and saying hello to the bands, the show began with Jack the Lads playing their set. Along with their really enjoyable original songs, which have a nice 60s vibe to them while still feeling modern, they did a really smashing cover of ‘Teenage Kicks’ by The Undertones. That’s a song that got a really great response from the crowd, which I was pleased to see. It’s a song I’ve certainly always enjoyed, so I was glad to hear it played live by a really talented band.

Afterwards, Blackdog Ballroom played their set. It has to be said, this band nails the 90s British alternative genre. That’s something I can’t say I’ve really experienced with other bands, but their songs really did remind me of classic bands like The Verve and Oasis. It made me feel really nostalgic for that period of my life when I’d constantly hear that music being played, while at the same time, made me super glad that I had traveled as far as I had for something like this. I’ve watched a lot of great live music played back home, don’t get me wrong, but it’s incredibly rare I’d find a band that would play the capture the feel of 90s nostalgia that Blackdog Ballroom does so easily.

img_01731

Along with some great original tracks, I also got to hear some of my all time favourite tunes. ‘Taxman’, ‘Paint It Black’ and ‘I Fought the Law (And the Law Won)’ were all brilliant, but the best one was definitely ‘Champagne Supernova’. A great way of ending a great set, and one that I spent the whole night dancing to (because seriously, as great as it is to listen to, it’s at least as important to mod music that you dance to it and that you have a damn good time).

17098616_10158440309305571_6775828418854706418_n
Pictured: a blurry image of yours truly having the time of his life while being considerably intoxicated by this point.

So that was a perfect way to balance out a rough week – great music and great times with great mates. I’ll be sure to write more about writing and reading next week. In the meantime, I’m going to round off this excellent mod weekend by sticking on the classic film, Quadrophenia.

One thought on “Toronto #23

Leave a Reply

