Toronto #24

It’s been over two weeks since my last blog, but this week’s entry is still going to be a short one. The truth is that things have been rather quiet the past couple of weeks.

Work at least has been going ok. In fact, I joined a few work mates for bowling just the other week. My social anxiety hasn’t been kicking in as much as I thought it would, so I didn’t actually feel like saying no when offered. That’s refreshing, I must admit.

Considering I’ve had plenty of free, quiet time lately, I must admit, I haven’t been reading or writing as much as I should. That’s something I need to fix, I think.

I’ve gotten out and seen a few films, at least. This weekend, I finally got round to seeing John Wick: Chapter 2 and Logan. Both great films. The latter especially was a satisfying end to Logan’s story. You can tell it was made for people who literally grew up with the X-Men movies, and not just because of how amazingly violent it was.

I didn’t go to Toronto Comic-Con last weekend. I had thought about it, but I didn’t have quite as much funds as I’d liked. That’s only partly the reason – I could’ve afforded a ticket at least, just not enough to get any notable souvenirs. The other reason was, after looking at the guest list, there was just no draw for me. No one I recognised from Doctor Who or anything like that.

Honestly, Niagra Falls comic-con in June looks set to be a lot better. Especially with the legend himself, Paul McGann showing up. (If you don’t know already, he’s easily my favourite Doctor, so it would so cool to finally go to a convention with him as one of the guests.) That’s something I need to save up for, I think.

One more point: last week, on Tuesday 14th March, I had officially made it to six months living over here in Canada. I still can’t quite believe it. When I first came here, I was filled with…well, perhaps not “doubts”, as such. Just aware that there were many possible outcomes to me coming over here, a few of which weren’t good. The scariest – because it was the most real one by far – was coming home after only a few months from not finding work and finding out that I really couldn’t make it on my own, after all.

Six months later, I’m settled in at both home and at work, I’ve made a few friends, and I’ve found a few places that I go to regularly. This is really working out even better than I had hoped for, and I look forward to discovering what I can do next.

2 thoughts on “Toronto #24

  1. Excuse me! I may suck at keeping in touch, but I read these every week! Where have they been like the whole of April 🙄. Hope you’re well!

    Like

    1. Damn, and I was hoping I’d have gotten away with slacking off!

      Actually, I must admit, I hadn’t expected anyone to be reading these regularly, so thank you for the comment. I have fallen behind considerably, I will admit. Initially because there seemed less to write about in general, before I was too busy to write anything! I’ll aim to write a post either tonight or tomorrow. Hope you’re well Abbie, and thank you very much for commenting, it’s much appreciated.

      Like

Leave a Reply

