Toronto #27 / Montreal #1

Wow, what a weekend that was! After nearly 8 great months of living in Ontario, I finally got to see a bit more of glorious Canada by visiting Montreal. It was a long journey there – six hours by bus – but worth it. (Plus, I got to listen to quite a lot of Doctor Who and start reading Mr. Mercedes, so it passed by pretty well.)

Visiting Montreal was interesting. It’s strange to think it’s in the same country as Toronto, really. In a strange way, it feels more European. Not just because French is usually everyone’s first language over there, although that may have added to it. (Interestingly, I was told that apparently there are laws to actually ensure that virtually all public signs are in French. They do seem to love their French roots over in Quebec!)

IMG_0195[1]

But there was also the city itself. From what I saw of it, there was a lot of great architecture. Whether it was something like Notre Dame or just a regular building in the right part of the city, there was a lot of really beautiful places to see.

It was was also interesting see how much the city changed. Sometimes, it unsurprisingly reminded me of Paris. But there were also times that, with its steep, cobbled streets and narrow roads, it almost reminded me of Edinburgh, too. Overall, you definitely couldn’t say that Montreal was similar to Toronto.

I got to see quite a bit of the city on Saturday, which was Free Comic Book Day. I got a couple of comics to read, including Doctor Who and Star Trek, which were pretty cool. There were a couple of cool things to see at the comic book shops – my favourite was seeing people dressed in full Star Wars gear, with one person dressed as a stormtrooper and the other as an Imperial officer. It was a gloriously geeky thing to see.

IMG_0185[1]

We finished the day off with a visit to the Planetarium. It was really cool. Two different shows, both of which we got to watch on the domed ceiling with some commentary. It was really interesting stuff. One part of the second show was trippy as hell, but overall, it was really cool.

Sunday was spent exploring the city, particularly old Montreal. While I didn’t go into Notre Dame, I did get to see it from outside, and it looked really beautiful. We then went exploring a little more before checking out Mount Royal.

What a gorgeous view that was. Just absolutely amazing. You could see virtually the whole city. And it was a lovely sunny day, too. It allowed for some really great photos.

IMG_0221[1]

Overall, it was a brilliant weekend. Partly because it was nice exploring somewhere new, but also it was nice to spend some great quality time with the person I’m currently dating. Honestly, it was just a really lovely time, overall.

 

Back in Toronto, on Monday, I got to watch the brilliant movie School of Rock. I actually hadn’t seen this in years. I had forgotten just how truly brilliant it was. I used to love it back in high school. I used to watch it again over and over, it was just such a great film. It’s one of those movies that could’ve come across as just another sickly sweet family movie, but you can tell that everyone involved had a really cool time making, and there was so much love to the genre of rock.

Seeing it again for the first time in so long was a pure blast of nostalgia, and it got me thinking about high school. About the boy I was all those years ago. High school wasn’t exactly the best time for me, especially in my later years there. This was less of anything external and more because of me, as I became increasingly unsure of what to do with my life and would eventually start to give up on it.

Still, as many mistakes as I made in high school, I did love it for one thing: the friends that I had made for life. I cannot begin to stress how important those friends are to me. They’ve stuck by me through thick and thin, and I’ve done the best to do the same for them. Those important friendships are easily the best thing I took out of high school.

As for my high school self? I wonder what he’d make of me now. I don’t think he’d have ever believed that he’d eventually do something as big and risky as move to Canada on his own for a couple of years. Mind you, he wouldn’t believe that he’d eventually try improvised comedy, or enjoy karaoke on a regular basis.

I felt really unsure of myself back then. In some ways, I still do. But I’m also feeling more confident than ever and really enjoying my life. It’s funny how you can be so certain how your life is going to be, and then find out that it’s not only so much different, but also so much better than what you expected.

Anyway, enough of that nostalgic nonsense. Let’s finish off with the School of Rock music video!

2 thoughts on “Toronto #27 / Montreal #1

  1. montreal is awesome! i am from toronto so of course i will be biased towards my home city haha but montreal they got some really good food and history there..love my visits there. thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I really liked what I saw. I can definitely understand preferring Toronto (certainly, it seems to suit me more), but you’re right, Montreal is a really cool place to visit. Thanks for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

