Toronto #28 – Ottawa

Hello again, everyone! Things have been quite busy since my last post. Particularly as I had my first birthday in Canada last week, and I got to experience my first Victoria Day weekend in a pretty epic way.

First things first: my epic birthday week. I got to spread a few things out over a few days, to really make it last. I bought myself some Doctor Who comics to enjoy (naturally), and I also sorted myself out with some Torchwood audios. The latter of which left me very excited for the upcoming season 5, although I’ll save those thoughts for Doctor Who Watch.

On the day itself, I got to have a late lunch with my housemates, which was pretty cool. Apparently, Ikea has restaurants. This was something I had no clue about. They do good food, anyway. The butter chicken’s especially great.

Later on during the day, I went to my favourite place in Toronto the Royal, and saw a little cult horror with Joan Crawford called Strait-Jacket. It was quite the interesting little film. At times, it was very melodramatic, but in between all the melodrama, there were also moments of sheer violence. It was interesting to watch, knowing it had been written by Robert Bloch, the same man who wrote Psycho. In some ways, they did share similar plots. As a film at least, Psycho is definitely superior, but Strait-Jacket was good fun to watch, at least.

The day after, I also got to watch Alien: Covenant. Definitely an improvement from Prometheus. Still not as great as the first two Alien movies, but worth a watch, at least.

Now, for the more exciting stuff! Monday 22nd was Victoria Day, which is a bank holiday over here in Canada for the Brits back home reading this. Me and the housemates got to take advantage of this by heading to Ottawa for the weekend.

IMG_0241[1]

Overall, it was a really great time. I got to see a lot of sites, and I checked out a couple of museums. The Canadian Museum of Nature was pretty cool, which covered things from dinosaur fossils to volcanoes, but it was the Canadian War Museum that was the real highlight for me. I got to learn a lot about Canada’s rich history, particularly the events that lead to its birth as a country. Really informative and really interesting, I thought.

img_02721.jpg

And how was Ottawa, the capital of Canada and the latest city I’ve visited? Quite interesting, really. It really is a very bilingual city, equal parts English and French. Not surprising, really – not only is it right next to the province of Quebec, but having a mixture of English and French language would be especially important when politics is involved. It’s quite the contrast to both Toronto and Montreal – after all, both are much more aimed to one primary language. It’s been interesting visiting a city that has embraced both, really.

IMG_0256[1]

Me and the housemates had such an awesome time. Along with the museums, we also got to go on a ghost walk. The stories were pretty cool, and it was a good excuse to see a little bit more of the city on foot. And we got to check out a couple of pubs as well, which is always important! It was just great to get away, explore and have some fun with my friends for the long weekend, really.

One more thing: I received some birthday gifts from my best mate back home. They were, in every figurative sense of the word, sweeeeeeeet. The Doctor Who Annual 2017 appealed to the kid in me, but the best one? A tea towel with the faces of the Proclaimers. As someone who always sings 500 Miles every chance he gets on karaoke, this was very much appreciated!

One thought on “Toronto #28 – Ottawa

Leave a Reply

